Prepping for SDCC – Travel Totes and More!

Hi! First of all, apologies to our readers – and my fellow Damsel – for being so quiet and preoccupied these past weeks. I fell victim to some mad crazy overtime at the office, and literally worked myself sick. Now that I’m all medicated up from a sinus infection – nasty, right? – I’m feeling more like my old self.

But if you know me well at all, you’ll know that nothing will ever stop me from shopping – even being sick! So with that in mind, I’d like to share a couple of nifty things I’ve picked up in preparation for this year’s SDCC.

Last year, I picked up a travel sort of bag that had a lot of compartments – including something for a water bottle on the side that was very convenient. However, I had a bit of trouble getting to my cell phone in a timely fashion. It was typically tucked into a side zipper pocket, and when you’re trying to be quick and swift with the access (let’s face it, blink and you miss it at SDCC, right?) that doesn’t always help. So this year I started poking about online for other ways to transport those necessary gadgets and keep them at arms’ reach.

First of all, if you’re ever shopping for anything related to bags/luggage/etc, I recommend heading over to eBags for your needs. They have a great shopping setup with categories you can actually navigate through easily, and the reviews on the site are always accurate and up to date. I love it. So that’s where I went to start my looking. Naturally, I came away with two finds – one right up the alley of what I was looking for, and something else completely unrelated but oh so useful to SDCC as well.

First up is the Hadaki Essential Wristlet!

Image

 

This little wristlet comes in a variety of colors, and in addition to the wrist strap it comes with it has a longer strap for a crossbody wear, which is what I was hoping for. The outside pocket is big enough to fit my iPhone (it’s the 4S model) in while still being in its hard carrying case, so that’s a definite plus. And when you unzip the main part you get –

Image

Lotsa pockets! Pockets for ID, credit card slots, and even a space to fit in some bills long-ways – which is something else I love in a wallet. So everything that’s necessary will be right there within reach. I’m all over this little contraption, and I’m going to be test driving it in the coming weeks when my boyfriend and I head out to Orlando and Disney World.

Now comes the unexpected purchase of the same day.

Image

This is the Mellow World Lovely Cross-Body Bag. It comes in a variety of colors, but naturally I went for the pink/orange combination. It’s got two zipper pockets –

Image

 

One is deep enough to hold my iPad, but not in its present Targus thick case, so I’ve scooped up a thinner, more lightweight case and am going to be testing that out soon. But the length of the bag looks promising, and if my iPad didn’t have the case factor, we’d be in business. This bag also comes with a wrist strap and a cross body strap, both of which please me greatly. I’m planning on using this for easier toting about of my iPad during travel, and also for when we might be in line for panels/signings/etc at SDCC. Let’s be real, here – we’re going to need entertainment.

So those are my two finds for now! I’m really pleased with them both! I’ll be doing some more travel postings in the coming weeks – we’re getting close to go time, everyone!

Until next time,

Damsel Nikki

, , ,

  1. #1 by website taruhan on June 20, 2013 - 8:37 pm

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

Leave a Reply

